Summer ends…

I can’t believe it’s the end of August.  Where has the summer gone?

I feel like I have been super busy, running all over the place to weddings and visiting friends & family, but yet I still am not sure what I’m doing with my life and I still don’t have a full-time job.  I really thought that would have happened by now.  I guess I still have a lot to learn about God’s timing and not my own.  There are so many things in my life I feel like I am waiting on and want to happen like yesterday.  And yet I keep waiting…and waiting…and waiting…

I once did a word study on waiting in the Bible.  I think I am going to revisit that.  One of the best things I remember learning, was active waiting.  I don’t remember all the specifics, but I do know it has a lot to do with jumping up off the couch (or comfy chair at Starbucks since that is where I am currently located) and doing something in the midst of my waiting.  Searching for jobs, doing some real digging and searching into what dreams & gifts I might have, volunteering, joining a small group, etc.  Whatever it is, I can’t just sit around and expect God to dump something in my lap.  Could He do that?  Yes, definitely.  But He doesn’t want me to just play around on Facebook all day, expecting the perfect job to just appear.  I don’t know what that job is for me right now, but I do know that I want to be pursuing it, not turning into a couch potato (no matter how many good shows I may have saved in my Netflix queue).

So, part of my active pursuit of God and my life, I have the opportunity to attend the Women of Faith Imagine event in Milwaukee on September 30-October 1.  I’m doing this as a part of their partnership with the Booksneeze blogger program, so I’m going to be doing a couple of posts about my experience and I’m super excited about it.  I’ve never been to one of their events, but I have heard great things about it.  I think it will be a good connection point for me.  A place where I can get fed some good spiritual truth and be challenged in my walk with the Lord.  A place where I will dream and yes, imagine what the Lord could do with my life in this new phase.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

