thirty by thirty part 2

if you missed the first part of this list, check it out here.

let’s continue on with the rest of the list!

16. learn to crochet
I already know how to knit…kind of.  the extent of my knitting abilities extends to just scarves so far, so really, I could have made this one be “learn to knit something other than a scarf.”  and maybe I will try to do that.  but there are a few crochet patterns that I really like, so I decided to make it something totally new.  my sister-in-law crochets quite a bit when she has the time, so maybe I’ll have her teach me and it will be something I get to do with her too.

17. do a pinterest/craft project once a month for a gift
it’s no secret that I, and most other women I know, have become obsessed with pinterest. it is fun and addicting, but has also totally expanded my knowledge of crafting.  I made a few of my Christmas gifts from pinterest projects that I’d found and they seemed to be a hit.  so this will be a good challenge for my sewing & crafty skills and it will challenge me to think outside of myself and figure out fun gifts for the people in my life.

18. blog once a week
I’ve never been very good at blogging consistently.  but I read quite a few blogs.  and since I’m starting on this list, I figured at least a couple of people would want to hear how it was going.  so I’m going to blog at least once a week.  it may be more than that, but I want to keep you updated at least somewhat regularly, so once a week seemed like a good goal.

19. count 1000 gifts
I’ve heard nothing but amazing things about this book and I’m waiting rather impatiently to get it from Holly, since I know she got it as part of my Christmas gift, but refuses to send it to me.  I’ve kind of been waiting to start counting until I had read the book, but I want to participate in this dare so I will probably start it sooner.  I’m excited for this and a little unsure as to what I will discover, but know that it will bring out some great stuff in my life.  feel free to join me along the way!

20. read & review 14 blog books (from such programs as Booksneeze or Blogging for Books)
I’ve done a couple of these before and really do enjoy getting free books, so I thought this would be a good way to be a little more intentional about it.  I kind of get sidetracked and  take way longer than I should to finish & post my reviews, so hopefully this will help me be better at finishing them and posting thoughtful reviews.  if you like to read, I would highly suggest these programs!

21. read one non-fiction book a month
I have not been very good about finishing books recently.  I’ve been reading more fiction lately, but have a big stack of non-fiction (Christian living, history, etc) books waiting for me.  so I’m going to work my way through a few of those.  I will keep you posted on what I’m reading and you all can help keep me accountable to finishing them!  (you can always check out what I’m reading in the sidebar of the blog!)

22. read through the entire Bible (I will be following this plan online, feel free to join me or keep me accountable!)
I’ve been wanting to do this for a while, but haven’t stuck with any plan that I’ve started.  so again, I’m putting it here to keep me accountable.  plus, this plan is put out by the church I went to in Madison, and so I know a bunch of my friends from there will be doing this too, so it will be fun to do it with them!  it’s been fun so far and I like the addition of the psalm everyday.  my journal is going to get filled up much faster this year as I keep up with this!

23. have a half-day with the Lord once a month
this was one of my favorite things about being on staff with Cru and so I decided to continue it.  it’s great to set aside some extended time with the Lord just to sit and enjoy His presence.  it would be a good time for me to do some processing on life and to focus on where He is taking me…

24. memorize the entire book of James
I’m terrible about scripture memorization.  so I figured this would be a good challenge for me.  it seems a little daunting, so I changed my mind a few times on which book to memorize.  James seemed like a good one to start with since it is not very long, but it’s still full of some great stuff.  I’m contemplating doing Beth Moore’s study on James as well.

25. volunteer somewhere once a month
on Christmas, I went to the warming shelter in town with some people from my church and we served dinner.  it was really fun and a great way to wind down Christmas.  I decided to be more intentional in this area since it is something that I enjoy and something that will stretch me & challenge me.  I may do the warming shelter a few times, but I would like to try a couple different things or places.  I think it will be a good way to force me out of my comfort zone and explore the community a little more.

26. work out 3 times a week
I wavered between many different ideas on a fitness goal for this list.  I knew I wanted something on this list to kick my butt in to gear and provide some accountability, but I had a hard time deciding what exactly it should be.  I decided on this one in the hopes that this would be a lifestyle change, instead of reaching a goal and just stopping.  Hopefully if I keep up with this until I turn 30, it will just become a habit and will continue naturally after I turn 30 too.  Plus, as long as I keep up with this, I should be able to reach some of the other goals I have too.

27. run a 5K without walking
I’ve tried this once before, but I did not follow through very well on the training and then ended up walking more than I wanted during the race.  so we are going to try this again.  most likely I will be trying to accomplish this at the Race for the Cure on June 2nd since this has become an annual event with our family to support & honor my mom and cousin. it’s always inspiring and amazing to watch everyone at this race and hopefully that will help me push through to run the whole race.

28. get a dog
I love pets and it’s easy to see where that love comes from when we go stay at my grandma’s and there are sometimes 7 dogs in the house!  why not add one more to the mix?!  I love my cat and he will not be thrilled with this one, but I really want a dog!  being single still and turning 30, I don’t want to be seen as a lonely cat lady, so we will just add a dog to the mix! 😉

29. stick to my zero-based budget for 6 months
I have not been great about really managing & tracking my money, so this is a big area that I want to work on.  I’ve created a budget and will work towards following it with the goal of sticking to it for at least 6 months.  I plan on using Mint to help track it all.

30. get a “new-to-me” car
poor Pammy the Neon is dying a slow death and it is past time that I got a different car.  so it’s on the list out of necessity and out of a desire to encourage my budgeting skills to afford a new (used) car!  Pammy, it’s been a good ride…

well, there you go.  that’s my list!  if you have any suggestions or encouragement, please feel free to comment or call!  and please, keep me accountable.  I need your help in this and am excited to see how the Lord will use it in my life in the next 14 months…

This entry was posted in thirty by thirty and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to thirty by thirty part 2

  1. 🙂 i love lists. and boy howdy do i love 30 by 30 lists! these are really good things, dude. i am proud of you and excited to challenge you. I LOVE YOU!

Leave a Reply

