Top 5 things in 2012

over at (in)courage today, annie is blogging about being single.  I started following annie’s personal blog and twitter a few months back when I was looking for some new blogs to follow of people who were in a similar place as me… around 30, single, walking with God, etc…  let’s just say there weren’t many that I found, but annie’s has been a blessing.

(in)courage has seemed like a great community for the short time I’ve been following it, with a lot of great devotionals and books, but they definitely do appeal & address the married crowd much more, so I’m excited to see where the conversation leads as annie begins to share in this community more about life as a single woman.  today she shared 5 things she wants to focus on this year to make 2012 different.

i just posted 30 things that I’m going to be working on for the next 14 months, but if I had to narrow it down to 5 personal things to work on to make 2012 different it would be these:

-count 1000 gifts
I still haven’t read the book, but I’ve really enjoyed starting on this.  I think it is a good challenge for me and will change the way I think about a lot of things as I look for the gifts in my life.

-read through the entire Bible
I don’t think I’ve ever actually done this and setting a goal and doing it alongside some friends will really help me finish it.  it’s been a good process so far and a good discipline for me to get back into.

-work out 3 times a week
I’ve tried to stick with work out plans before and haven’t really done it since I stopped playing hockey.  but I really do want to lose some weight and get in better shape, especially with the recent history of cancer in my family and the fact that I’m turning 30.  I would love to look and feel great for that!  so I put it on my list for some added accountability and a goal to work towards.

-stick to my zero-based budget for 6 months
while I’m single, I want to get smart about money and my financial status.  I haven’t always made the best choices in this area, so this is something I want to improve on.  if I ever do get married, I want to be a blessing to my husband, and if I come into marriage with poor money habits, I know it would not be a fun adjustment.  plus a bunch of the things on my list involve spending money, so saving for those goals would be a good plan!

-have an auntie/Kaylee date once a month
ok, this is probably just the one I’m most excited about!  I love being an aunt and getting the chance to spend some quality one-on-one time with my favorite kid will make this a great year!

so there are 5 things out of my 30 that I think will really make 2012 a great year while being single!

This entry was posted in 1000 gifts, thirty by thirty and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

